2016 Awards, Recognition & Scholarship Program Update

There is still time to nominate someone from your agency, but hurry, time is running out!

The nomination drive for the 2016 Association of Public Safety Communications Officials, Intl. (APCO) awards has long been closed, but agencies still have another chance to submit nominations for the No. CA Chapter of APCO’s local awards program. Do you have an employee that received special recognition during National Telecommunicators’ Week? If so, submit their names to the No. CA APCO Awards, Recognition & Scholarship Program. Nomination packages are available for download on the website: www.napco.org/awards/.

The deadline for submitting nominations has been extended to Friday, September 23, 2016.
The eight categories for the 2016 Chapter Awards, Recognition & Scholarship Program are:

  • Telecommunicator of the Year
  • Information Technologist of the Year
  • RF Technician of the Year
  • Line Supervisor of the Year
  • Dispatch Team of the Year
  • Trainer of the Year
  • Communications Center Director of the Year
  • The Preston Thomson Award of Excellence

Nominees must have been employed in the applicable category by a public safety agency at any time between January 1, 2015 and September 1, 2016. Nominations must be received by the No. CA APCO Awards, Recognition & Scholarship Committee no later than Friday, September 23, 2016. Nominees need not be members of No. CA APCO or APCO, but we always encourage new members!

All nominations selected by the No. CA APCO 2016 Awards, Recognition & Scholarship Committee will be awarded at our Annual Awards Banquet October 14th in Monterey, CA at the Hyatt Hotel. And, as in previous years, No. CA APCO is committed to submitting all nominations to APCO for consideration nationally.

Should you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact any member of the Awards & Recognition Committee.